Building an Infrastructure

The frame of the shed, complete with shiny new roof joists

The frame of the shed, complete with shiny new roof joists

When I began the process of applying for this internship back in April, I had no idea that I would ultimately wind up functioning as Berea’s chief carpenter. Indeed, my initial application focused a lot on growing plants and a lot less on growing buildings. But that’s exactly what I’m doing, and, though the individual steps of a project are sometimes surprisingly frustrating, I couldn’t be happier!

I’ve come to realize that this farm is a lot more than just growing fruits and vegetables. We need a place to wash that produce, and places to enjoy it, as well. If we hope to grow our programs, we need a place to sell our strawberries and our eggs. And it’d be great to have a place where kids can learn all about the new creation.

That’s the role our new wash shed/farm stand is starting to play. I’m not down in the dirt (not most days, anyway), but the work I’m doing with wood is carefully supporting the work others are doing with soil and seed. Every day, I see Erin using the building a little bit more. And I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy my morning coffee while sitting on a bench inside the farm stand.

It’s slow-going work, but it is good work, and it’s coming together. The next time you’re on the property, stop by and see a piece of the infrastructure that supports our other other, wonderful, work.

–Aaron

3 thoughts on “Building an Infrastructure

  1. Pingback: Justice in a New Light | Seeking the New Creation

Leave a Reply

